Research Tools »

   
skip to content

Linking to specific articles in a database

You may link to full-text articles from Blackboard, your syllabus or a webpage, and in your EndNote library. Simply copying the location from the address bar of your browser will not work. It may appear to work initially, but the links are not persistent. Follow the directions below to create permanent or persistent links to articles in the library databases. (Index databases that do not contain full text are not listed below.)

Note: In order to ensure that off-campus users can connect directly to articles, you must add the following authentication URL to the beginning of the persistent URL: https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

Example:
Persistent URL to JSTOR article:
http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0039-7989%28197106%2920%3A2%3C167%3AABATTS%3E2.0.CO%3B2-0

Persistent URL with authentication URL:
https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0039-7989%28197106%2920%3A2%3C167%3AABATTS%3E2.0.CO%3B2-0

Database Name Where to Find Persistent Link

ABI/Inform (ProQuest)

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Document URL" field.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

ACS (American Chemical Society Publications)

Find an article citation. Below the title of the article, locate the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) link. Copy this URL.

Art Abstracts (EBSCO)

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Artstor

Right-click on image in results page and select "Display image URL" [note you must complete a free registration to do this].

BioOne

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Black Drama

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text and copy the address from your browser).


Business & Company Resource Center

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Business Source Premier

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Clinical Pharmacology

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

CountryWatch

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

CQResearcher

View article, click "Cite Now!" link, copy URL displayed in small window.

Custom Newspapers

View a full-text article. Click the "InfoMark" link in the toolbar (found in the banner area at the top of the page). A persistent link is unavailable if the toolbar's InfoMark link is "grayed out."

Education Research Complete (EBSCO)

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Encyclopedia of Animals

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

ERIC (EBSCO)

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Gale Virtual Reference Libary

View a full-text article. Click the "InfoMark" link in the toolbar (found in the banner area at the top of the page). A persistent link is unavailable if the toolbar's InfoMark link is "grayed out."

Oxford Art Online

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

HarpWeek

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

Historical New York Times (Proquest) 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Document URL" field.

History E-book Project (ACLS)

Look up book in the library catalog or browse complete collection under "History Ebook Project." Copy URL found in catalog record.

Hoover's Online

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

IEEE Digital Library

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

JSTOR

View citation. Get persistent URL from the "Stable URL" link.

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

MasterFILE Premier 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Mergent 

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Military & Government Collection  

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Multimedia Archive/Associated Press (AP) 

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

Naxos Music Library 

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

New York State Newspapers 

View a full-text article. Click the "InfoMark" link in the toolbar (found in the banner area at the top of the page). A persistent link is unavailable if the toolbar's InfoMark link is "grayed out."

New York Times Historical 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Document URL" field.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center 

View a full-text article. Click the "InfoMark" link in the toolbar (found in the banner area at the top of the page). A persistent link is unavailable if the toolbar's InfoMark link is "grayed out."

Oxford English Dictionary 

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Primary Search  

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

ProQuest Research Library 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Document URL" field.

ProQuest Health Management 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Document URL" field.

ProQuest Newspapers 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Document URL" field.

PsycArticles 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Regional Business News 

View article. Get persistent URL from the "Persistent link to this record" field.

Safari Tech Books 

The persistent link to the book is at the bottom of any page for that book, i.e. http://proquest.safaribooksonline.com/013144025X.

SciFinder Scholar 

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

ScienceDirect 

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text article and copy the address from your browser).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy 

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

Twayne Authors Series 

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

ValueLine Research Center 

At this time, the database does not support persistent linking.

Wilson Select Plus 

Select "View Full Text in HTML" or "View Full Text in PDF." Select "Link Pickup" in the right-hand corner. Copy the "IP-address recognition URL."

Women and U.S. Social Movements 

Allows direct linking to full text (just view the full text and copy the address from your browser).