Introductory Psychology: PSY272 spring 2009
Susan Kraat 257-3705, firstname.lastname@example.org
Gale Virtual Reference Library: online encyclopedias covering many subjects. Look here for an overview of your topic(psychologist): http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=newpaltz&authCount=1
Or consult a reference source:
Encyclopedia of Psychology [REF BF31 .E52 1994]
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology [Ref GN502 .E63 2006]
Some Journal Titles at STL:
Adolescence (Current Periodicals)
Child Study Journal (Current Periodicals)
Sex Roles (Current Periodicals)
Journal of Experimental Psychology (Current Periodicals)
Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin (Current Periodicals)
Search STL Catalog for books on your topic:
Use Basic Search and choose subject begins with if you know that your person or subject is an LC subject heading
Myers-Briggs Type Indicator
Stress management OR stress (psychology)
Use Advanced Search to combine terms or to search specific collections:
Gender [Limit to Reference Collection] OR
Combine terms: chomsky and language
Databases most often used for Psychology and related topics: http://220.127.116.11/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Psychology
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO): journal coverage for most academic areas of study - including communications, language and linguistics and medical sciences.
Lexis-Nexis Academic: excellent source for media transcripts, news, legal, and business news.
ProQuest Direct PA Research II: Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly journals on a wide variety of topics
PsycArticles (Ebsco) database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
* PsycINFO (Ebsco): abstracts of journal articles and book chapters in psychology. Search by itself for Thesaurus access or combine with other databases if appropriate.
*ScienceDirect: (Elsevier): scholarly with some full-text of scientific and medical journals. Also contains journals in the social and psychological sciences
Tests in Print: online version of the print directory of publication information for instruments currently in print AND
Mental Measurements Yearbook: online version of the print series, which features reviews of various tests and instruments
Try the Multi-Search option to search several sources at once: http://wfxsearch.webfeat.org/wfsearch/menu?cid=10053
See handout for access to full text of your journal article.
If your article is not available, either in print, in microform or online, you may request it via
Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD).
IMPORTANT URL INFORMATION: Links to articles may work at first, but can change after you have copied them. Find out how to create persistent URLs so that your articles will be there when you need them!
For Additional Help, go to the Student Research Assistance page:
AND/Or schedule a personal consultation session with a librarian: