Psychology Research Methods, Spring 2009

Instructor: Mike Gayle

Librarian: Megan Coder (coderm@newpaltz.edu)  

                    

                   

Suggested Reference books:

[Note: FREE printing from Reference books at Information Desk]

 

Classic experiments in psychology  

The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science

Tests in Print

The mental measurements yearbook

 

 

Search the Library Catalog for books on your topic:

 

An “All Fields” search will search the catalog for your terms anywhere the terms appear within the catalog record (i.e. the title, the content notes, author, subject headings, etc.)

 

A “Subject begins with…” search will give you a list of subject headings to browse.  These subject headings will be subdivided several ways.  Select one of the subject headings to view the list of books. Example: Psychological Tests

 

Worldcat: use this library database to search for books in other libraries that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan  

 

 

Search the library databases to find articles and test reviews/descriptions relating to your topic:

 

PsycINFO (EBSCO)

 

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

 

ERIC (EBSCO)

 

Tests in Print (EBSCO)

 

Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)

 

                                    Note: You can search the EBSCO databases simultaneously

 

 

 

Finding the full text of an article:

 

Click the   Find Full Text button from the database citation to get to the full text from another database (if available) or Library Catalog.  If   does not provide links to another database or the Library Catalog, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).   Generally, articles are sent to your ILLiad account in 3-5 business days.

 

Find Full text guide & videos

 

 

Journals:

 

Click on “Journals” on the library homepage.  Search by “Title begins with” to discover the journals/magazines/newspapers that we own and where you can find them (electronically via the databases or in print via the Library Catalog).

 

 

Multi-Searchsearch the Library Catalog and many of the databases simultaneously

 

 

Additional Help with the Library:

 

Student Library Assistance: click this button on the homepage for Citation and Style guides, the Find Full Text guides, and other helpful resources.

 

 

Ask A Librarian: click this button on the library homepage to ‘Ask A Librarian’ a question via e-mail or to schedule a research consultation.